Review: Not Little

Today I want to share a small book with a BIG heart with you all. Not Little by Maya Myers and Hyewon Yum is a delightful picture book, perfect for any young readers who have ever felt underestimated.

Title: Not Little
Author: Maya Myers
Illustrator: Hyewon Yum
Publisher: Neal Porter Books
Published: July 6, 2021
Format: Picture Book

Not Little follows a young girl named Dot, who is smaller than everyone she knows, as she tries to explain to everyone that she is not little anymore. Dot is frustrated by the way everyone treats her like a baby, even though she is growing to be a smart and independent young girl. She even knows the square root of sixty-four and the capital of Indonesia! How could she be little? Dot finally gets her chance to prove how big she is when a new smaller kid joins her class and begins to be bullied by another classmate.

The illustrations by Hyewon Yum, as always, are fantastic. Fans of Grandpa Across The Ocean and I Am a Bird will be pleased to find Yum’s familiar style on every page.

You can pick up your copy of Not Little wherever books are sold, including Bookshop and Amazon. (Please note: Some links provided are affiliate links. Affiliate links allow me to receive a small commission for recommendations at no cost to you. This commission is used to maintain this site and to continue bringing content to you. I always appreciate your support!)

Thank you so much to Neal Porter Books and Holiday House for sending me a review copy of this precious book. I can’t wait to share it with my little guy (who is still actually little for a while).

About The Author:

Maya Myers is a debut picture book author as well as a freelance book editor and a former elementary school teacher. She lives in Charlotte, North Carolina, with her husband, author/illustrator Matt Myers, and three daughters.

About The Illustrator:

Hyewon Yum is the author and illustrator of several acclaimed books for children, including This Is Our HouseThe Twins’ BlanketThere Are No Scary Wolves, and Last Night. Her book Mom, It’s My First Day of Kindergarten! received the Ezra Jack Keats New Illustrator Award. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her family.

You Might Also Like:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s